Everyone needs a hug once in a while

I am volunteering at a school near me with the hope that it’ll help me in getting a job as a teacher in the schoolboard (a currently very difficult feat for some reason).

I will be volunteering in two kindergarten classes. I started on Thursday and volunteered for Ms. P and her JK/SK split class (so cute!). She then asked if I would like to meet Mr. S, the new kindergarten teacher who I would be helping on Tuesdays. I said that would be great and so she took me over to his classroom.

Mrs. P: This is Julie, the volunteer who will be helping you on Tuesdays.

Me: Hi, it’s nice to meet you.

Mr S says nothing to me, instead he collapses on me in a hug and repeats “Thank-you” a couple of times.

Ms. P: Is today not going well?

Mr. S: A student had a meltdown when I took them to the computers.

Mr. S then looks at me and falls on me in a hug again.

Now some people might be thrown by being hugged by someone you’re being introduced to in a professional setting. I, however, found it really endearing and honest and it made me smile.

One of my sisters, I’m not saying who, would probably not have been thrilled with the hug 🙂

This entry was posted in Julie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everyone needs a hug once in a while

  1. Mads says:

    hahaha I love hugs, but I am very selective with them. If a stranger got up in my biznass like that, I would have freaked.
    Cute, though

  2. lol! Yes, normally it would have totally thrown me, but for some reason, this teacher was just huggable!
    Julie

Leave a comment